---
title: "Startup Validation Benchmarks 2026: 6,000+ Analyses"
slug: startup-validation-benchmarks-2026
description: "Anonymized benchmarks from 6,000+ Preuve analyses through July 30, 2026. Model score distributions, risk labels and rescan associations, not startup outcomes."
canonical: https://preuve.ai/blog/startup-validation-benchmarks-2026
author: Vincent
author_credentials: Founder of Preuve AI
date: 2026-04-04
last_updated: 2026-09-12
read_time: 10 min
---

# Startup Validation Benchmarks 2026: 6,000+ Analyses

Anonymized benchmarks from 6,000+ Preuve analyses through July 30, 2026. Model score distributions, risk labels and rescan associations, not startup outcomes.

## Key takeaways

- **Model verdicts, not business outcomes.** 17.5% of assessment records received go, 76.0% caution and 6.4% no-go. These are not observed startup success or failure rates.
- **Early-stage risk is the most frequent primary label.** It appears in 36.9% of tagged analyses, followed by go-to-market at 25.7%. These are model-assigned risks, not verified causes of failure.
- **Competition labels coincide with higher scores.** Records flagged for competitive pressure average 64.5, the highest major risk-group mean. Competitor signals also enter the scoring process, so this is not independent evidence of demand.
- **The median assessment score is 54.** The mean is 56.3, and fewer than 0.2% score above 90. Scores are not calibrated business success probabilities.
- **Selected rescans had higher scores.** Across 734 re-scored iterations, the reported mean change was +8.9 points and 75.2% increased. Selection and model-version differences prevent a causal interpretation.

## Observation window

Anonymized data from 6,000+ completed analyses; published statistics use a cleaned, like-for-like comparison set, not unique startups or founders.

Observation cutoff: 2026-07-30. Editorial revision: 2026-09-12.

## Methodology

The unit is an assessment record. The July edition starts from anonymized data from 6,000+ completed analyses through July 30, 2026 and describes a cleaned, like-for-like comparison set.

The published exclusions are the founder's own test and demo scans, a promotional batch scored by a lighter model, agency scans and investor packages. The remaining scope is free scans, paid deep analyses and follow-up improved iterations.

Risk shares use the published subset of 4,995 records with a stored primary risk label. Rescan figures use 734 selected re-scored iterations, not unique founders. Per-tier and monthly statistics have their own subsets.

All published data is aggregate and anonymized. No individual ideas, founder names or company names are disclosed.

## Limitations

These are model assessment scores and risk labels, not observed startup failure or success rates or calibrated outcome probabilities. No survival follow-up, failure event definition or outcome-validation study is disclosed.

The set is self-selected and includes repeated assessment records. It does not represent all startups. Selection, different tier recipes and model-version changes limit comparisons; aggregate monthly means cannot establish scoring stability.

The exact cleaned-set size and exclusion counts are not disclosed. Monthly and tier denominators, missing-label coverage, pair eligibility, repeat-chain handling, starting timestamp and timezone, and the model-version mix are not fully documented in the public edition.

Rescan differences are uncontrolled associations. They do not establish that rescanning caused improvement, that founders independently completed homework or that business prospects improved. Competitor evidence also enters scoring, so score associations are not independent proof of demand.

Source queries and July aggregate exports are not available with this publication. The numbers cannot be independently reproduced from the materials here. The September editorial correction does not recompute or newly validate the July study.

Percentages are independently rounded. Rounded buckets, verdict shares and risk shares may not sum to 100%, and adding rounded buckets may differ from a separately rounded total. Do not reconstruct exact counts from these percentages.

## Suggested citation and download

Vincent, Preuve AI. Startup Validation Benchmarks 2026: 6,000+ Analyses. 3rd edition, observation cutoff July 30, 2026; editorial revision September 12, 2026. https://preuve.ai/blog/startup-validation-benchmarks-2026.

This is a transcription of selected published aggregates from the July 2026 edition, not raw data, not a new computation and not a verified source export. It preserves the published values without recalculation.

[Download published aggregates as JSON](https://preuve.ai/blog/startup-validation-benchmarks-2026/aggregates.json)

## FAQ

### What share of assessments received a go verdict?
In the July 30, 2026 benchmark, 17.5% of assessment records scored 70 or above, 76.0% scored 40-69 and 6.4% scored below 40. These model verdict shares are not observed startup success or failure rates. Percentages are independently rounded.

### What is the most common risk label?
Early-stage risk appears in 36.9% of the tagged-analysis subset, followed by go-to-market at 25.7%, regulatory risk at 12.0% and competitive pressure at 11.5%. Missing risk labels are excluded from this distribution; the labels do not establish why businesses fail.

### What does a startup viability score of 70 mean?
A score of 70 or above falls in the model go band. The benchmark median is 54 and the mean is 56.3; fewer than 0.2% score above 90. A score is not a calibrated probability of startup success or proof that a business is ready to launch.

### Does this benchmark measure startup failure rates?
No. It describes anonymized Preuve assessment records, not observed business outcomes. There is no disclosed survival follow-up, failure event definition or outcome-validation study. The 6.4% no-go share cannot be used as a startup failure rate; the April edition reported 4.8% in that model band.

### Do rescored iterations have higher scores?
The published July comparison reports +8.9 points on average and 75.2% with higher scores across 734 re-scored iterations, not unique founders. This selected, uncontrolled comparison does not establish that rescanning caused improvement or that business prospects improved. Pair eligibility, repeat-chain handling and model-version comparability are not fully documented.

### How were these benchmarks prepared?
The July edition describes anonymized data from 6,000+ completed analyses through July 30, 2026 and a cleaned, like-for-like comparison set. Founder test scans, a lighter-model promotional batch, agency scans and investor packages are excluded. The exact cleaned-set size and exclusion counts are not disclosed. September 12, 2026 is an editorial correction, not a new study or recomputation.

Canonical HTML version of this post: https://preuve.ai/blog/startup-validation-benchmarks-2026
